Back to Top

National Career Services Conference

Tuesday, October 29, 2002
MSG-076a
MEMORANDUM FOR: 
Human Resources Directors
From: 
Richard A. Whitford, Acting Associate Director for Employment
Subject: 
National Career Services Conference

I am writing to invite you to participate in the 2nd National Career Services Conference (NCSC) on May 5-6, 2003 at the University of Maryland University College, College Park , MD. This conference is an important part of the "A Call to Serve" initiative being jointly sponsored by OPM, the Partnership for Public Service and founding member Federal agencies. The NCSC reflects OPM Director James' commitment to reinvigorate the Federal Government by attracting talented new employees into public service.

The first NCSC was held in September, 2001 and brought together 21 Federal agencies and over 200 college and university career services staff. Your participation made it successful in accomplishing its goal of re-establishing the relationship between Federal agencies and the schools they recruit for your future workforce. Our goal for the 2nd NCSC is to build on this success by attracting 300 to 400 career services staff from campuses nationwide. I'm asking that your agency support both the "A Call to Serve" initiative in general and this conference in particular. Attached is the current roster of "A Call to Serve" Federal agency representatives. Please check it to ensure that your agency is participating in this important initiative.

The 2nd NCSC will be paid for in the same way as the 1st conference. All participating agencies would pay a nominal sponsorship fee based on their size. This fee will cover the cost of conference registrations for their staff, an agency exhibit booth and a concurrent agency presentation to conference attendees. Most importantly, this fee will promote career services staff attendance by enabling them to attend without paying an individual registration fee.

Please forward the name, phone number and email address of your agency's conference contact person to Dave Herman of my staff at 202-606-3736 or daherman@opm.gov by Friday, November 1. Dave will then coordinate the first organizational meeting with your representative. The 2nd NCSC is a significant opportunity for your agency to network with hundreds of schools in just one location. Please join with us in this important conference.

Current Roster

Partnership for Public Service
Federal Agency Partners

Work Group Contact List

Organization Name Phone Number E-Mail Address
Overseas Private Investment Corporation Brittany A. Willging 202-336-8657 brwil@opic.gov
National Aeronautics and Space Admin Melissa Riesco 202-358-1518 mriesco@hq.nasa.gov
Health and Human Services Dianne Thomas 202-690-6073 Dianne.Thomas@hhs.gov
HHS Jason Barke 202-690-5626 Jason.Barke@hhs.gov
Congressional Budget Office Nancy A. Fahey 202-226-2628 Nancy.Fahey@cbo.gov
Library of Congress Michaline Dobrzeniecki 202-707-7191 mdob@loc.gov
Equal Employment Opportunity Comm Anthony Richardson 202-663-4319 anthony.richardson@eeoc.gov
Department of the Interior Mark Oliver 202-208-6403 ed_partners@ios.doi.gov
Interior Jacqueline Griffin-Smith 202-208-6403 jacqueline_griffin_smith@ios.doi.gov
Nuclear Regulatory Commission Leonard Carsley 301-415-8588 LHC@nrc.gov
Department of the Navy Vicki D. Lackey 202-764-0739 vicki.lackey@navy.mil
Department of Commerce Debby Hall 202-482-6187 Dhall@doc.gov
Agency for International Development Shelia Tolliver 202-712-5615 STolliver@usaid.gov
U.S. Coast Guard Carl E. Dolder 202-493-1097 cdolder@ballston.uscg.mil
USCG Winston Casey 202-493-1105 wcasey@ballston.uscg.mil
Department of Agriculture Marilyn Jenkins 202-720-7168 marilyn.jenkins@usda.gov
USDA, Nat Resources Conserv Service B.J.Scruggs 202-720-6526 kathy.huey@usda.gov
Office of Personnel Management Bonnie Maines 202-606-2141 bcmaines@opm.gov
OPM Dave Herman 202-606-3736 daherman@opm.gov
OPM Cheryl Thomas 202-606-1755 ckthomas@opm.gov
OPM Tina Strickland 202-606-1428 tsstrick@opm.gov
OPM Shirley Lynch 202-606-2456 salynch@opm.gov
OPM Judy McCoy 202-606-1000 jamccoy@opm.gov
Social Security Administration Fred Glueckstein 410-966-9958 fred.glueckstein@ssa.gov
Department of State Diane Castiglione 202-261-8897 castiglionedl@state.gov
State Nakita Smith 202-261-8846 smithns2@state.gov
Federal Communications Commission Diane Graham 202-418-7533 dgraham@fcc.gov
Defense Logistics Agency Mark Smith 703-767-8401 mark_smith@hq.dla.mil
Federal Emergency Management Agency Laura Deskins 202-646-2868 laura.deskins@fema.gov
FEMA Lucy Elkins 202-606-2868 lucy.elkins@fema.gov
FEMA Rashida Jackson 202-646-4529 rashida.jackson@fema.gov
Broadcasting Board of Governors Mike Conboy 202-619-3117 mconboy@ibb.gov
Department of Transportation Denise Schossler 202-366-9447 denise.schossler@ost.dot.gov
Department of Veterans Affairs Max Collier 202-273-9758 max.collier@mail.va.gov
Department of the Treasury Barbara Richburg 202-622-4815 barbara.richburg@do.treas.gov
ATF Teresa Watts 202-927-8395 tawatts@atfhq.atf.treas.gov
ATF Lynette Warren 202-927-4770 lwarren@atfhq.atf.treas.gov
OCC Bonnie Russell 202-874-4060 bonnie.russell@occ.treas.gov
BEP Veronica Shirley 202-874-2545 veronica.shirley@bep.treas.gov
US Mint Kaarina Budlow 202-354-7948 kbudow@usmint.treas.gov
IRS Kathryn Mercer 202-283-0753 Kathryn.a.mercer@irs.gov
IRS Julia Cronin 202-283-9098 Julia.m.cronin@irs.gov
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Mike Mrozowski 202-219-2586 work@ferc.gov
Environmental Protection Agency Mary Free 202-564-7878 Free.Mary@epamail.epa.gov
EPA Jeri McCann 202-564-7773 mccann.geraldine@epa.gov
EPA Tanya Bailey 202-564-7776 bailey.tanya@epa.gov
Administrative Office of the US Courts Desiree Watkins 202-502-1705 desiree_watkins@ao.uscourts.gov
Admin Ofc of the US Courts Cheri Thompson-Reid 202-502-3800 cheri_reid@ao.uscourts.gov
Department of Education Clarissa Lara 202-260-8267 clarissa.lara@ed.gov
Court Services & Offender Supervision Linda Mays 202-220-5613 linda.mays@csosa.gov
CSOSA Maryam Muhammad 202-220-5765 maryam.muhammad@csosa.gov
CSOSA Anthony Mitchell 202-220-5765 tony.mitchell@csosa.gov
General Accounting Office Madelyn Daniels 202-512-3429 danielsm@gao.gov
GAO Sally Jaggar 202-512-6808 jaggers@gao.gov
Immigration and Naturalization Service Julia Peeler 202-616-2447 julia.e.peeler@usdoj.gov
General Services Administration Ginny Ward 202-501-1244 ginny.ward@gsa.gov
GSA John Shaw 312-886-3444 john.shaw@gsa.gov
Federal Maritime Commission Hatsie Charbonneau 202-523-5773 hatsiec@fmc.gov
National Endowment for the Humanities Timothy Connelly 202-606-8415 tconnelly@neh.gov
Securities and Exchange Commission Jill Kirson 202-942-4155 kirsonj@sec.gov
National Labor Relations Board Catherine McCoy 202-273-3900 catherine.mccoy@nlrb.gov
NLRB Mona Segner 202-273-3988 mona.segner@nlrb.gov
Pension Benefit Guarantee Corporation David Barash 202-326-4110X317 barash.david@pbgc.gov
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights George Harbison 202-376-8364 gharbison@usccr.gov
Commodity Futures Trading Comm. Mary Lincoln 202-418-5004 mlincoln@cftc.gov
Department of Labor Jared Llorens 202-693-7727 llorens-jared@dol.gov
DoLabor Sharon Ratliff-Gross 202-693-7736 ratliff-gross-sharon@dol.gov
Department of Energy Thomasina Mathews 202-586-3447 thomasina.mathews@hq.doe.gov
DoE Gerald Venanzi 202-586-0215 gerald.venanzi@hq.doe.gov
DoE Stephanie Diamond 202-586-8472 stephanie.diamond@hq.doe.gov
Department of Defense Jeanne N. Raymos 703-695-7901 jeanne.n.raymos@osd.mil
DoD Sandy Chun 703-697-5783 Sandra.Chun@osd.mil
DoD, CPMS Edward Capers, Jr. 703-696-6301 X 601 edward.capers@cpms.osd.mil
Dept of the Army Charles Caloia 703-325-0363 charles.caloia@asamra.hoffman.army.mil
Dept of the Air Force Barbara Hayman 703-695-7381 barbara.hayman@pentagon.af.mil
Dept of the Air Force Denise Walker 703-695-7383 denise.walker@pentagon.af.mil
OSD/WHS Karen Nussbaum 703-617-7941 nussbk@psd.whs.mil
OSD/WHS Laura Devlin 703-617-7222 devlil@psd.whs.mil
DoDIG Janice Obeido 703-602-4545 jobeido@dodig.osd.mil
Defense Contract Audit Agency Donna Truesdell 703-767-1023 Donna.Truesdell@dcaa.mil
DCAA Marie Nazari 703-767-1042 marie.nazari@dcaa.mil
DoDEA Leonard L. Bransford lbransfo@hq.odedodea.edu
DoDEA Diane Brundidge
Defense Security Service Gusta Kramme 703-325-6063 gusta.kramme@mail.dss.mil
DSS Kim Ables 410-865-2565 kimberly.ables@mail.dss.mil
Defense Threat Reduction Agency Edith Pearce 703-767-0156 edith.pierce@dtra.mil
Defense Contract Mgmt Agency Willie Foreman 703-428-1931 wforeman@hq.dcma.mil
Missile Defense Agency Jerry Indrisano 703-697-6867 gerard.indrisano-contractor@mda.osd.mil

Federal Executive Boards
City Name Phone Number E-Mail Address
Minnesota Ray Morris 612-713-7200 ray_w_morris@nbc.gov
Los Angeles Kathrene Hansen 562-980-3445 kathrene.l.hansen@usdoj.gov
Boston Kim Ainsworth 617-565-6769 kim.ainsworth@gsa.gov
Baltimore Richard Howell 210-962-4047 baltfeb@aol.com
Seattle Ann Tiernan 206-220-6171 sfeb@mindspring.com

Other Organizations
Organization Name Phone Number E-Mail Address
National Assoc of Colleges & Employers Nancy Mikkelsen 800-544-5272X148 nmikkelsen@naceweb.org
Hispanic Assoc of Colleges & Universities William Gill 202-467-0893 wgil@hacu.net
Partnership for Public Service Caroline Chang 202-775-9111 cchang@ourpublicservice.org
PPS Joan Timoney 202-775-9111
PPS Max Stier 202-775-9111